Gut wrenching

She called me to
tell me that she’s hospitalised
with volvulus.

That’s latin for twisted bowels.

A rare condition when
the large intestine gets
knotted up.

Happens mostly to babies.

And I am assuming also to
adults who refuse to grow up.

Which explains it.

She’s on a drip.
Can’t keep anything down.
Not even water.

Yet she has enough strength
to call me and tell me that
she wants me to cook
her favourite mutton curry
once she’s okay.

From her hospital bed.

She should be in an asylum.

But who am I to judge?
It’s not like I’m sane either.

About ramanujshastry

Judgmental, self-obsessed, pompous, unbalanced and brilliant. In that order. View all posts by ramanujshastry

One response to “Gut wrenching

  • mojaswi

    Want to share one I wrote (copying pasting from my secret old blog):

    welcome home traveller

    to know me is to know this place for i am this place in the way the fog droplets lick and sweep over you and the wind speaks in whispers and howls, making your whole body as ears you taste me in the juice of red berries fed by fingers of the sun it is me in the dance of trees, naked and low to the earth, i am there in the memory of this rocky landscape, still throbbing from the heat of volcanoes throwing fire and the chill of glaciers carving passages inland and even as the ocean offers herself to rocky, singing beaches, unashamed and hungry you see me

    come closer and be ready to stumble through the fog… blind and suspended in majical whiteness to lose your breath with the windforce as it claims your body for a dance partner to be drenched with water, waking you to your deep thirst to feel the slap of ice and snow just a moment before the lazy kiss of fat flakes on your tongue to climb uphill, feeling all the while your body living, breathing, pounding, burning with feeling to dream the ancient stories of each rock as you sleep on the high ledges, attended by only sky to give yourself to the ocean tides, till you are but a particle of salt in it

    if you will chance these you can know wildness and peace with me and like me with this place and like this place

    we will cross that bridge between worlds what outward eyes can see and what inward eyes know

    welcome home traveller

    On Mon, Jan 16, 2017 at 11:31 PM, gleamingblackwords wrote:

    > ramanujshastry posted: “She called me to tell me that she’s hospitalised > with volvulus. That’s latin for twisted bowels. A rare condition when the > large intestine gets knotted up. Happens mostly to babies. And I am > assuming also to adults who refuse to grow up. Which explai” >

Leave a Reply

